International Center for Research and Education in Agriculture, Nagoya University


Home > Staff > Faculty Members


Faculty Members

Faculty Members

Research and Application Division

  • Director, Tropical Bioresources

    Dr. Hiroshi Ehara

    Background Tropical plant science, economic botany and agroecology
    Current interests
    • Ecological and physiological characteristics of sago palm (Metroxylon sagu) and related species
    • Improvement of cultivation techniques to enhance adaptability against environmental stress in rice
    • Growth and physiological response of Vigna plants against salt stress or acid stress
  • Assistant Professor, Tropical Bioresources

    Dr. Mana Kano-Nakata

    Background Crop science, agronomy
    Current interests
    • Morphological and physiological root characteristics for adaption to water stress in cereal crops
    • Plant carbon partitioning under environmental stress
  • Professor, Genetic Information for Bioresources

    Dr. Yoshiaki Inukai

    Background Plant Genetics and Breeding
    Current interests
    • Molecular mechanism of root system formation and their application to breeding for stress avoidance such as shortages in water and nutrients in rice

Rural Development Division

  • Associate Professor, Practical Studies in Africa

    Dr. Daigo Makihara

    Background Crop science, agricultural and rural development
    Current interests
    • Limiting factors for the rice cultivation in East Africa
    • Conservation agriculture for the prevention of soil erosion using local resources
    • Socio-economic aspects of sustainable management and use of crop genetic resources
  • Associate Professor, Practical Studies in Asia

    Dr. Kasumi Ito

    Background Forest economics, forest management, agricultural and rural development,regional resources management
    Current interests
    • Promotion of processed agricultural products for rural development
    • Influence of household size biogas plant for forest resources utilization
    • Capacity building of researchers for rural development in developing countries

Research Fellow

  • Dr. Rena Tomita
    Research Topic Study on the adaptability of rice to environmental stress conditions in Kenya

Support Staff

Administrative Staff Ms. Eri Hattori
Administrative Staff Ms. Michiyo Nakatsuka
Technical Staff Ms. Kimiyo Inukai
Technical Staff Ms. Eiko Murakami
Technical Assistant Ms. Masue Hattori
Page Top

Contact Us | Links | Privacy Policy | Site Policy

Nagoya University. Furo-cho, Chikusa-ku, Nagoya, 464-8601, Japan. TEL: +81-52-789-4225 FAX: +81-52-789-4222